Internet & Startup 101 Resources

Startup Resources on this blog: https://cgviews.wordpress.com/tag/startupresources/

Read these posts first:

  1. https://cgviews.wordpress.com/2013/06/09/effectual-thinking-pivot-adjacencies/
  2. https://cgviews.wordpress.com/2013/10/23/domain-expertise-startup-failure/

Other Great Startup Resources:

Yodas & Wise Men in the startup and Internet world:

·         Paul Graham – http://paulgraham.com/articles.html

·         Sean Ellis- http://startup-marketing.com/

·         Andrew Chen Blog – http://andrewchenblog.com/list-of-essays/

·         VentureHacks (Naval Ravikant & Babak Nivi) – http://venturehacks.com/

·         Paul Buccheit ( Creator of Gmail)- http://paulbuchheit.blogspot.com/

·         Steve Blank – www.steveblank.com

·         Eric Ries http://www.startuplessonslearned.com/

·         Mark Suster – http://www.bothsidesofthetable.com/

·         Fred Wilson – www.avc.com

·         Chris Dixon – www.cdixon.org

·         Ben Horowitz – http://bhorowitz.com/

·         Bill Gurley – http://abovethecrowd.com/

·         David Cowan – http://whohastimeforthis.blogspot.com/
·         Sam Altman – http://blog.samaltman.com/

·         Glenn Kelman (Founder of RedFin)

* Marc Andreessen – http://blog.jedchristiansen.com/2009/10/15/a-marc-andreessen-blog-archive/

Overall Startup & Entrepreneurial Resources:

Product Management:

Internet Business & Revenue Models:

o   Show me the money presentation by Jeremy Liew: http://www.slideshare.net/kuchmuch/web-20-expo-show-me-the-money

§  Three ways to build an online media business to $50m in revenue: http://lsvp.wordpress.com/2007/02/26/three-ways-to-build-an-online-media-business-to-50m-in-revenue/

o   9 types of business models on the web: http://thenextweb.com/entrepreneur/2011/05/25/the-9-types-of-online-business-models-which-one-do-you-use/

o   8 Revenue model options for Internet startups- http://www.smartinsights.com/digital-marketing-strategy/online-business-revenue-models/online-revenue-model-options-internet-business/

Customer Development & Lean Startups

o   Customer Development Book: http://www.stanford.edu/group/e145/cgi-bin/winter/drupal/upload/handouts/Four_Steps.pdf

o   Lean Start Up Book: http://www.amazon.com/The-Lean-Startup-Entrepreneurs-Continuous/dp/0307887898

o   Entrepreneurs Guide to Customer Development – http://www.amazon.com/The-Entrepreneurs-Guide-Customer-Development/dp/0982743602

o   VentureHacks- http://venturehacks.com/archives#customer-development

*  Customer Development & Sales Learning Cycles: https://cgviews.wordpress.com/2009/04/17/customer-development-process-and-sales-learni/

Cost of Customer Acquisition:

o   http://www.forentrepreneurs.com/startup-killer/ (This is the seminal article that talks about the importance of CAC/COCA)

o   http://andrewchenblog.com/2009/01/19/how-to-create-a-profitable-freemium-startup-spreadsheet-model-included/

o   http://www.thisisgoingtobebig.com/blog/2010/7/27/customer-acquisition-is-oxygen-to-a-startup.html

o   http://www.entrepreneur.com/tradejournals/article/56068802.html

·         Marketing & Customer Acquisition

o   How to be a growth hacker- http://andrewchenblog.com/2012/04/27/how-to-be-a-growth-hacker-an-airbnbcraigslist-case-study/

§  Make sure to read all of Andrew Chen’s essays on viral marketing & user acquisition- http://andrewchenblog.com/list-of-essays/

o  Sean Ellis – The sultan of startup marketing- http://venturehacks.com/articles/sean-ellis

§  http://startup-marketing.com/category/demand-creation/

§  http://startup-marketing.com/category/demand-harvesting/

Business Plan & Investor Pitching

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Internet & Startup 101 Resources

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s